A MULTI-FAITH NETWORK
COMMITTED TO ACTION
ON CLIMATE CHANGE

Sacred People, Sacred Earth launch, Oceania

Wednesday, 18th November

Registration is essential. Here's where you register:

https://actionnetwork.org/events/greenfaith-international-launch-day-of-action-australia-and-oceania

Perth 4 pm
Adelaide 6.30 pm
Queensland 6 pm
Sydney and Melbourne 7 - 8.15 pm
Fiji 8 pm
New Zealand 9 pm
Jakarta 3 pm
Delhi 1.30 pm
Nairobi  11 am
Paris 9 am

The Australian Religious Response to Climate Change (ARRCC) invites you to the Oceania launch of the organizing of the biggest-ever global faith-based “Sacred People, Sacred Earth” Day of Action for the Climate.

The “Sacred People, Sacred Earth” Statement around which the Day of Action will be organised, calls for a post-COVID recovery that delivers justice to the most marginalised and solutions to the climate emergency.

It was formulated by grassroots representatives of partners within GreenFaith International (GFI), a new, global, grassroots, multi-faith climate justice alliance. We’ll share the purpose and spirit of GFI, our Vision and our bold demands of those with the power to respond to the climate emergency as outlined in the Sacred People, Sacred Earth Statement. We’ll lay the foundations in Oceania for the planned massive, global Day of Action on March 11, 2021.

This will be one of a series of six online launch events around the globe.

Each event will feature performance artists as well as speakers representing religious, geographic, gender and cultural diversity. Speakers will provide opportunities for people of diverse faiths and spiritualities everywhere to get involved by:

  • Signing the Statement and inviting others in their faith communities to sign;
  • On 11th March, ringing bells, sounding gongs, drumming, blowing the conch and so on, to draw the world’s attention to the need for ambitious international action.

Registration is essential. Here's where you register:

https://actionnetwork.org/events/greenfaith-international-launch-day-of-action-australia-and-oceania

A similar North American launch event will be held on Nov 18 at 12.30 Sydney time. Register here to be included.

Launch events in other regions tend to be at inconvenient times for Australia but you can register and be sent the recordings. For events in other regions and more information, see here.

 

WHEN
November 18, 2020 at 7pm - 8pm
WHERE
TEDx
CONTACT
Thea Ormerod
+61405293466