A MULTI-FAITH NETWORK
COMMITTED TO ACTION
ON CLIMATE CHANGE

COVID and climate action, Oceania

What: Webinar on COVID-19 & the climate challenge in Oceania

When: Monday, Sep 28, 5 pm AEST

7 pm Fiji & Aotearoa/NZ, 3 pm Perth, 12.30 pm Kolkata, 9 am Berlin

More about the topic: The impact of COVID in the Oceania region (including Australia) and how this relates to climate action; introduction to GreenFaith International and its Mission.

RSVP: register via this link 

and the Zoom link will be sent to you.

This webinar is part of a series, with the focus variously on Latin America, Africa, North America, South-east Asia/Indonesia. It is being hosted by GreenFaith International, a newly formed multi-faith climate action alliance of faith partners from all corners of the world. ARRCC is a Founding Partner.

The first collective action of GreenFaith International will be the launch of a faith-inspired statement just prior to the G20 Summit in Saudi Arabia on Nov 21 – 22. Initially we are asking senior faith leaders to sign on, then afterwards we will invite sign-on by large numbers of people of faith. The launch of the letter will be accompanied by a Sounding the Alarm action – with Imams chanting a the Azan, drumming in Africa, sounding the Shofar by Jewish Rabbis, churches around the world tolling bells, etc. It is intended to draw attention to our message in a way that is COVID-safe.

An apology:

Sincere apologies to our observant Jewish brothers and sisters for whom this webinar is scheduled towards the end of Yom Kippur, the most holy day on the Jewish calendar. We do have great respect for your tradition, just a certain unfamiliarity with its rhythms. So sorry! We will be more mindful in future.

Speakers

Rev. James Bhagwan is the General Secretary of the Pacific Conference of Churches, the peak ecumenical body in the Pacific, who's membership accounts for approximately 80 percent of the Pacific population, with 30 member churches and 9 national councils of churches across the region.

Thea Ormerod is a Catholic Christian, a semi-retired social worker, grandmother and an advocate for action to curb global warming. She has long been involved in a range of social justice issues, mainly concerning global poverty. For the last thirteen years Thea has been involved in the multi-faith climate action organisation, the Australian Religious Response to Climate Change (ARRCC, pronounced “ark”) and is currently the President. 

RSVP: register via this link 

and the Zoom link will be sent to you.

Copy of Poster: here

WHEN
September 28, 2020 at 5pm - 6:15pm
WHERE
Zoom